Karen Caine

Chair | Website | Representative on City Centre Partnership

I was born in Birmingham, and have lived here most of my life. I moved to the City Centre from the outskirts in 2003, and I love it! It is great to be able to walk to almost everywhere I want to go, and not to have to get into the car just to get to a shop.  

I am a part time Teaching Fellow at Aston University, lecturing on ‘Creative Decision Making for Effective Change’ and ‘Leadership Development’ to MBA students at Aston Business School. I have also been involved in freelance management and freelance photography, and doing some interesting work for the Birmingham Council Resilience team (ie emergency planning). Prior to that I had 20 years team leading and management experience with Capgemini, a major IT and Business consulting company. My varied experiences there included Knowledge Management, Marketing Management, and IT Service Delivery Management.

I am also an enthusiast of Life Long Learning, and in 2008 completed a part time MBA at Aston University.

I joined the committee in January 2007, and was also involved in my local Residents Association Committee for several years (I am currently taking a break after chairing it in 2009).